Palace Chrysler-Jeep


Brandon Township candidate forum Aug. 2 at EBSC

July 25, 2012 - The public is invited to meet the candidates for the Brandon Township Board during a forum planned for 6 p.m., Thursday, Aug. 2, at the Edna Burton Senior Center, 345 Ball St., Ortonville.

The forum takes place just five days before the primary election (Tues., Aug. 7), when the majority of the township seats will be effectively decided, as 15 of the 16 candidates are Republicans.

The forum was organized and will be moderated by EBSC Director Annette Beach and EBSC Program Coordinator Faye Bindig.

"We don't ask questions, we give index cards to the audience and they can write questions," explained Beach. "We let the candidates each give a 5-minute speech introducing themselves and the audience can ask questions directed to specific candidates, or if they don't have a specific candidate, each will be given a chance to answer."

The candidates for township supervisor are Kathy Thurman (incumbent), Michael Hamlett and Andrew Potter. Treasurer candidates are Terri Darnall and Linda Owen. Candidates for clerk are Candee Allen, Debra Brady, Linda Cotton and Susan Nassar. Trustee candidates (four will be elected) are Dana DePalma (incumbent), William DeWitt, Nikolaus Kovasity, Ron Lapp, Maria Lauinger (Democrat), Courtney Wright McClerren, and Jayson Rumball.

Beach said most candidates are planning to attend the forum, a free event in which candidates running for office positions will be introduced and questioned in the first hour and trustees will round out the second hour. A meet and greet with refreshments will follow.

"I really feel the forum gives a lot of information and gives the public a chance to get to know the candidates and get a better understanding of each person," said Beach.

"I'm hoping there are a lot of questions. The last time we did this, there was a big turnout."

Susan covers Brandon Township and Ortonville
Email Link
Clarkston Cleaning
The Oxford Leader
SPI Subscriptions
Site Search