Palace Chrysler-Jeep

News Briefs

News in Brief

July 16, 2014 - School board officers

Clarkston School Board's officers are unchanged, after Monday's board election.

Board President Rosalie Lieblang, Vice President Susan Boatman, Treasurer Joan Patterson, and Secretary Craig Hamilton were all re-elected to their posts on 4-3 votes during the July 14 meeting.

Voting against were trustees Elizabeth Egan, Steve Hyer, and Cheryl McGinnis. Hyer nominated Egan for all four officer posts.

Bridge closed

The pedestrian bridge in Depot Park near M-15 is closed for repairs.

City of the Village of Clarkston Manager Carol Eberhardt said she decided to close the bridge even though the city engineer deemed it safe for people to cross to be "prudent" and because DPW Foreman Jason Miller is on vacation.

Repairs will be completed when Miller returns this week, Eberhardt said.

Resident Tom Stone asked if signs could be installed to let walkers know the bridge is closed so they don't travel all the way there only to learn they cannot cross. Eberhardt said she would make the signs.

Bonuses for township

Department heads can earn an extra $1,500 under a new incentive plan adopted by the Independence Township Board.

Under the new Performance Recognition Plan, approved on July 8, department directors can earn bonuses ranging from $1,000-$1,500 for achieving at least 70 percent of goals, starting in 2015.


The news brief "Political signs" in the July 9 edition should have said City of the Village of Clarkston ordinances permit political signs only on private property 60 days before an election, and they must be removed 14 days after an election. Signs are also limited to 2 feet by 3 feet.

Email Link
Clarkston Cleaning
SPI Subscriptions
The Oxford Leader
Site Search