Palace Chrysler-Jeep

4 vie for seats

August 27, 2014 - Four candidates are running for three seats on Clarkston City Council in the Nov. 4 election.

Peg Roth, Richard Bisio, Michael Sabol and Sharron Catallo will run to fill the three seats. Joe Luginski is running unopposed for mayor.

Bisio ran in 2013 for seat on city council after he had been appointed to fill a vacant seat, but was defeated. An attorney, he serves on the Ordinance Committee and Public Safety Committee.

Catallo, who was reelected to council in 2013, previously served as city council member and mayor. She also serves on the Trees and Gardens Committee and Zoning Board of Appeals.

Roth has served four terms, eight years, on city council. In addition to her seat on the city council, she serves community organizations and committees including the Parking, Streets and Sidewalks Committee.

In addition to his seat on city council, Sabol serves on the Department Committee, Community Committee, Technology Committee, and Ordinance Committee, and as city council liaison to the planning commission.

Luginksi was elected mayor of the city in 2010 and also serves on several committees including the Community Committee, Technology Committee and also as the Finance Committee Chairman.

Each council seat is a two-year term through 2016. Luginski's term will also expire in 2016. To be eligible, candidates were required to turn in nominating petitions, along with 20-40 registered voter signatures, by Aug. 5. City council is the governmental body of the city, and makes decisions about city business by following a set of rules called the City Charter. When they take office, council members are sworn in, and swear to uphold the charter.

Council member's Thomas Hunter, David Marsh and Eric Haven's terms do not expire until 2015.

Staff writer covering Independence Township and Clarkston area.
Email Link
Clarkston Cleaning
Clarkston News
SPI Subscriptions
Site Search