Palace Chrysler-Jeep

Youth wrestling team places 4th at state competition

Wrestlers are Liam Hillary, Matthew Curtis, Sergio Borg, Ryan Miller, Thomas Wandrie, Jacob Call, Joe Calhoun, Austin Schlicht, Garrett Tyrrell, Vinny Vackaro, Devin Trevino, Campbell Coker, Hunter Schrah, Joey Fisher, Samuel Kinne, Nick Johnson and Byron Schlickenmeyer. Photo provided. (click for larger version)
March 13, 2013 - On Sunday, Feb. 24, the Oxford Youth Wrestling Middle School dual team placed fourth in the state at the Michigan Youth Wrestling Association (MYWA) Team State Duals held at Kellogg Arena in Battle Creek.

Oxford was fourth on the tournament's Most Pins Least Time List with 26 pins in 30:26, which was ahead of Clio, who took first place (number 5), Hartland, who took third place (number 7), and Lowell, who took second place (number 9).

Overall, Oxford lost two matches, both of which were against Hartland (24-34 and 24-46). Oxford defeated Holt (50-12), Niles (45-22), Dakota (41-23), and Lakeshore-Stevensville (39-30).

Three wrestlers ended the day with a 6-0 record. They were:

Vinny Vackaro (115) with three first period pins and three decisions, one of them in overtime.

Samuel Kinne (160) with four first period pins, one second period pin. and one technical fall. He was fourth on the tournament's Most Pins Least Time list with 5 pins in 5:29.

Byron Schlickenmeyer (heavyweight) with four first period pins (including one that took a mere 13 seconds) and two decisions. He was tenth on the tournament's Most Pins Least Time list with 4 pins in 2:58.

Sergio Borg (85/90) went 5-1, while 80 Matthew Curtis (80/85) and Campbell Coker (122/129) both went 4-2.

The team was managed by Jeff Miller and coached by Kriss Curtis, Joe Borg, Matt Wandrie, Jim Tyrrell, and Jake Stumph. Most of the team are members of the Oxford Youth Wrestling Club directed by Paul McDevitt.

Email Link
Clarkston Cleaning
SPI Subscriptions
The Oxford Leader
Site Search