Palace Chrysler-Jeep


School board, village council petition deadline near

July 21, 2010 - The petition filing deadline to be on the November ballot for several elected positions in the community is drawing near.

In November, voters will elect two candidates to fill two four-year trustee seats on the Brandon School Board. Currently, those seats are held by Greg Allar and Diane Wiley. The Ortonville Village Council also has several seats that will need to be filled— three 4-year terms currently held by Harold Batten, Kay Green and Melanie Nivelt, a 2-year council president term held by Ken Quisenberry, and one partial-term that will end in 2012 which Coleen Skornicka was appointed to after Mary Kassuba resigned.

Village residents interested in seeking a seat on the council can obtain a petition from the Brandon Township clerk's office, 395 Mill St. and must turn it in to the clerk by no later than 4 p.m., Aug. 10, with a minimum of six and maximum of 20 signatures of registered village voters.

School board candidates must reside within the district boundaries and can also obtain a petition from the clerk's office, but are required to have a minimum of 40 signatures and maximum of 100 signatures of registered voters within the school district, or, in lieu of filing a petition, candidates can pay a $100 nonrefundable fee.

Candidates must file their petitions or pay the fee by 4 p.m., Aug. 10, at the Oakland County Clerk's Office, Election Division at the County Service Center, Bldg. #12 East, 1200 N. Telegraph Road, Pontiac, MI 48341.

Susan covers Brandon Township and Ortonville
Email Link
Clarkston Cleaning
The Oxford Leader
SPI Subscriptions
Site Search