Palace Chrysler-Jeep

On board

With five seats up for grabs, 14 candidates file for May 3 school election

February 09, 2011 - Last week, four hats were in the ring for five open seats on the Lake Orion Community Schools' Board of Education.

When the filing deadline passed at 4 p.m. Tuesday, the final number was 14.

Missing from the list, however, was Tiffany Weber-Phillips, who was elected to the board in 2009 but faced controversy last year when her residency came into question. She was ultimately cleared, according to reports formerly published in The Lake Orion Review.

Candidates stepping up in hopes of hanging onto the board seats they currently occupy the first and third Wednesday of each month include Janet Wolverton, first elected in 2002 and re-elected in 2006. Board member Kelly Weaver, appointed to replace then-President Bill Walters is also listed among the 14 candidates, as is Steven Drakos who was appointed to the board when Tina Peterson stepped down last year.

According to state law, anyone appointed to the board must seek voter approval in the next election in order to serve out the remainder of their predecessor's term.

Drakos is the only candidate running for the two-year term.

Winners of the other four seats will he serve four-year terms.

School Board President Mary Jo Burchart, originally elected to the board in 2000, and Treasurer Jim Weidman, first elected in 2001, are both currently serving terms ending in 2013.

All five elected May 3 are likely to have their work cut out as the board faces a potentially bumpy ride through the Feb. 22 bond issue, the superintendent search process and the shrinking prospects for budget cuts amidst continuously shrinking revenue.

Lake Orion Review Editor
Email Link
Clarkston Cleaning
The Oxford Leader
SPI Subscriptions
Site Search