Palace Chrysler-Jeep

Lake Orion School Board unofficial results

May 04, 2011 - And then there were five . . . or seven, if you add in the two non-running Lake Orion School Board members (Mary Jo Burchart and Jim Weidman).

Last night voters from in and around Lake Orion voted to fill five seats on the board of education. Incumbents Kelly Weaver and Janet Wolverton did not garner enough votes to remain on the board for another four years. However, incumbent Steven Drakos, did retain his seat -- a partial term seat, beating out the write-in campaign of Bob Gritzinger. Gritz, as is known by, was a last minute write in candidate, having served on the board for 12 years, he did not seek re-election until about two weeks ago when the board failed to approve a teacher contract. (A 3 to 3 vote on April 13).

Here are the numbers we got this morning for the top vote getters . . . Melissa Miller (1,439), Connie Meech (1,408), Birgit McQuiston (1,328), Deborah Porter (1,240) for the four = year terms and Steven Drako (1,841) for the two year position.

Numbers are unofficial from Oakland County Clerk's department. We will have more in next week's print edition. To the winners, The Review says -- May the Force be with you.

Email Link
Clarkston Cleaning
SPI Subscriptions
The Oxford Leader
Site Search