Palace Chrysler-Jeep

Welcome Aboard!

New LO board of education sworn in

Lake Orion Schools Superintendent Marion Ginopolis, left, swears in new members of the board of education. From left to right, Connie Meech, Deborah Porter, Birgit McQuiston and Melissa Miller. Not pictured is Steven Drakos. photo by J. St.Henry (click for larger version)
July 20, 2011 - The recently elected members of the Lake Orion Community Schools Board of Education were sworn in at the July 13 board meeting.

Superintendent Marion Ginopolis performed the swearing in honors.

"I'm very excited about working with this new Board of Education," Ginopolis said. "Sometimes new members are a little nervous at their first meeting, but they did their homework and came prepared with plenty of questions and comments, which is exactly what they are supposed to do. Their job is to keep us accountable to the community."

Newly elected this spring were Connie Meech, Deborah Porter, Birgit McQuiston and Melissa Miller. Steven Drakos won his bid for re-election for a seat he was previously appointed to.

* * *

During its July 13 meeting, the Board of Education selected its officers for the 2011-12 school year. Mary Jo Burchart remains president; Birgit McQuiston is vice president; Deborah Porter is secretary; and Jim Weidman retains his role as treasurer. Trustees include Steven Drakos, Connie Meech and Melissa Miller.

Email Link
Clarkston Cleaning
The Oxford Leader
SPI Subscriptions
Site Search