Palace Chrysler-Jeep

Post carriers awarded for million safe miles

From left, Barb Miller, senior assistant state steward for Michigan Rural Letter Carriers Association, Denise Owen, Clarkston Post Office OIC, Rick Moreton, manager for Post Office Operations, and at right, Bill Miller, president of Branch 320 National Association of Letter Carriers, congratulate Penny Hurford, Terri Hendren, and Dean Smith for earning Million Mile Safe Driver awards. Photo by Phil Custodio (click for larger version)
July 27, 2011 - United States Post Office honored three Clarkston mail carriers for a million miles each of safe driving.

Receiving the National Safety Council Million Mile Safe Driver Award were Penny Hurford, with 39 years of safe driving; Terri Hendren, 35 years; and Dean Smith, 37 years.

"It's a remarkable feat," said Rick Moreton, manager for Post Office Operations. "Safety is important, and you have demonstrated how to do it."

The award is one of the Post Office's highest, recognizing professional drivers for their driving and safety skill, said Denise Owen, Clarkston Post Office officer in charge.

"It's wonderful, a great award," Owen said.

The employees have a total of 111 years of safe driving, providing mail delivery for Clarkston-area residents, she said.

Email Link
Clarkston Cleaning
SPI Subscriptions
The Oxford Leader
Site Search