Source: Sherman Publications

Remove Images

No more voting reps for school district on cable board

December 14, 2011

Oxford Community Schools is happy to continue working with the Oxford Area Cable Communications Commission, however, the district will no longer have any voting representatives on the board.

"We will continue to support and work cooperatively in providing school programming," wrote Superintendent Dr. William Skilling in a Dec. 12 e-mail. "However, since we do not contribute financially, we should not have voting members on the cable commission."

At a special cable commission meeting held Dec. 12, the board voted to amend its bylaws to eliminate the school district's two seats on the nine-member board, which oversees Oxford Community Television, the local cable access station.

Commissioner Jack Gray, a middle school teacher who represented the district, verbally submitted his resignation Friday, Dec. 9.

The school's other representative, video media teacher Bruce Holladay, had previously resigned and his seat remained vacant.

In his Dec. 12 e-mail, Skilling wrote that he had informed Commission Chair Melvin "Buck" Cryderman "three weeks ago by phone" of the district's desire to no longer have voting representatives on the board.

However, Gray was in attendance at the commission's Nov. 30 meeting and voted to fire station manager Don Huegerich.

Huegerich was terminated in a 5-3 vote.

With the exception of the Oxford Public Library's one representative, Chris Bishop, all of the other commissioners represent government entities that financially contribute to the cable commission.

Financial contributors are Oxford Township and Village, Addison Township and the Village of Leonard.

Editor C.J. Carnacchio