Source: Sherman Publications

Remove Images

Gridiron heroes honored during end of season banquet

by Wendi Reardon

January 15, 2014

Jason McCowan signs the giant replica of the championship trophy. Photo by Wendi Reardon
The 2013 MHSAA Division 1 Football State Champions reflected on the 13-1 epic fall season on Sunday night at Clarkston High School during their football banquet.

They received their letters, medals as well as their state championship rings. Independence Township Supervisor Pat Kittle also stopped by to proclaim Jan. 12 as Clarkston Wolves Football Day.

Awards were also given out as follows: Unsung Hero, Griffin Barta; Big Play Award, Tim Cason; Scout Team Player, Jay Wright and Jason McCowan; Heart Award, Dom Monson; Spirit of the Wolf, Blake Rehahn; Boosters Award, Jacob Armstrong; Coaches' Award, Caine Watlington; Special Teams Player of the Year, Shane Hynes; Scholar Athlete, Cole Chewins; Most Improved, Austin Egler; Hog of the Year, Nick Matich; Offensive Co-MVPs, DJ Zezula and Ian Eriksen; and Defense MVP, Reid Kaminski.

Ironman: Watlington, Zezula, Egler, Kaminski, Barta, Merrick Canada, Eric Dumas, Nick Smith, Ross Manssur, Gavin Butler, Trevor Laing, Blake Townson, Jacob Gozdor, DJ Rogers and Michael Yates.