Source: Sherman Publications

Remove Images

New school board, village candidates on November ballot

by David Fleet

July 23, 2014

Goodrich-Some new faces will be on the ballot this fall.

July 22 was the petition filing deadline to the Genesee County Clerk's office for candidates to appear on the school board and village council ballot on the Nov. 4 general election.

The school board will have four candidates for three seats. Jeff Brown, Daniel Keller (incumbent), Jennifer Riggs and Chip Schultz (incumbent) will run for three-six year terms which will expire Dec. 31, 2020. For the one partial term four years that will expire Dec. 31, 2018, Greg Main (incumbent) will run unopposed.

Incumbent Trustee Niki Wiederman was elected in May 2010 and will not seek a second term.

The village council will have five candidates for three seats. Mark Baldwin (incumbent), Richard Saroli (incumbent), Jacob Vic, Diane Fredericks, and Tim Brannan will run for two four-year terms and one two year term. The two candidates who receive the most votes will get the four year terms.

In 2011 Goodrich voters elected Richard Saroli with 204 (58 percent) votes to serve the remainder of recalled village council president Patricia Wartella's term in office. He was re-elected in 2012 to a two year term. By a 4-0 vote in December 2011 the village council appointed Mark Baldwin to fill the vacancy created by the resignation of councilman Phil Jackson.

Councilman Doug McAbee, who was first elected in November 2010, will not be on the ballot.

"It was a family decision for me to not run for re-election this fall," said McAbee, 66.

"We took a look at our goals as a family and decided to take a break. But, I'm not going too far and will attend the meetings at the village. I will also continue to be active in the village—there are plenty of issues that will need attention including the dam and drains. I will not rule out getting back on the ballot at some point in the future, but for now I'm going to step back."