Source: Sherman Publications

Gentlemen, start your carved wooden blocks!

May 25, 2011

Pack 108 Cub Scouts of Oxford hosted its annual Pinewood Derby Race at Oxford Middle School on March 25.

Nearly 52 racers competed in the event, which featured Pack 108ís state-of-the-art aluminum pinewood derby track outfitted with a laser start gate, computerized timing and race software package.

Each competitor raced in four heats, and the overall average time in each age group was awarded trophies.

An overall first place trophy, which went to Ian Keefer, was awarded to the fastest Cub Scout across all age groups. He had the fastest overall time of 2.4963 seconds.

Winners include:

Tigers: Trevor Hagberg (first), Gavin Green (second) and Ethan Tice (third).

Wolves: Steven Patterson (first), Nolan Matthews (second) and Josh Darbonne (third).

Bears: Ian Keefer (first), Jacob Albrecht (second) and Zach Barrows (third).

Weblos: Hunter Green (first), Robert Large (second) and Devin Smith (third).

Weblos 2: Jack Perry (first), Thomas Mitzel (second) and Clayton Hill (third).

Awards were given to all who participated in design categories.

A complete list of race results and pictures are available at the pack website,